Van Ieperen installed as Rotary Sunrise president

POSTED: 07/12/11 4:20 PM

St. Maarten – Hendrik-Jan van Ieperen has taken on the presidency of the Rotary Club of St. Martin Sunrise for 2011/2012 club year. He’s taking over from Bernadette Davis who was president for the 2010/2011 club year. The other board members are Vice-President/Service Projects Director Irma Gumbs, Secretary/President Elect Marcellia Henry, Treasurer Angela Gordon, Sergeant at Arms Anjenie Lachman, Membership Director Meredith Boekhoudt, Club Administration Director Cookie Bijlani, Public Relations Director Peter Dialani and Rotary Foundation Director Claret Connor.

The new board plans to lead the members in focusing on assisting the Simpson Bay Community Center with its renovation and continuing projects like the ‘Walk for Health’ and ‘Readers are Leaders’. The club will also sponsor the establishment of an Interact Club at the Sundial School.

Davis, who stood down from the presidency at the recent change of board ceremony, thanked her board and the members for their support and dedication in handling a year of highlights and disappointments. The highlights include delivering a warming bed – incubator – to the St. Maarten Medical Center and starting the Readers are Leaders program.

“The true essence of this club is not so much about what has been successful and what hasn’t, but our commitment to the ideals of service above self, the objectives of Rotary, and our love for the St Maarten/St Martin community,” Davis said.

The former president’s final act was to present the Director of the Keys to Freedom Rehab Center Pastor Adamus and the Care Teacher at the Sundial School Jackie Morris with “Service above Self” awards. She also inducted former presidents and charter members Irma Gumbs and Meredith Boekhoudt as Paul Harris Fellows.

Sunrise Rotary Club meets every Tuesday at Air Lekkerbek (near the Prince Bernhard Bridge) between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m.

Did you like this? Share it:
Van Ieperen installed as Rotary Sunrise president by

Comments are closed.