Students question ministers

POSTED: 02/22/12 1:12 PM

St. Maarten – In preparation of the Cycle II final examination, grade six (year 4) of the Marie Genevieve de Weever Primary School visited the Council of Ministers on Tuesday. The school is currently covering the topic ‘Government of St. Maarten’ and in this regard the school took the initiative of organizing an excursion to the various governmental institutions.

After a brief introduction by the ministers on their portfolio, the children received the opportunity to ask several questions ranging from blackouts at Gebe, the electoral system, to the fuel shortage at the airport and maintenance of streetlights. In general the students received an interactive, informative and educational session.

The ministers who were present for the class visit were Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams, Vice Prime Minister Theo Heyliger, Minister of Finance Hiro Shigemoto, Minister of Tourism & Economic Affairs Franklin Meyers, Minister of Education & Youth Affairs Dr. Rhoda Arrindell, Minister of Justice Roland Duncan and Minister of Public Health Cornelius de Weever.

Did you like this? Share it:
Students question ministers by

Comments are closed.