St. Maarten Carnival Development Foundation releases Carnival 2013

POSTED: 11/5/12 12:55 PM

St. Maarten — The new schedule for Carnival 2013 was released today by The St. Maarten Carnival Development Foundation. This year’s schedule will feature 22 days of Carnival activities and there will be 17 days of “fettin” from the official opening of Carnival Village on Thursday and from April 18 until the close ceremony on Friday May 3. There will also be five Carnival events held at locations outside of Carnival Village prior to the festivities.
By featuring seven locally themed nights, six internationally night and eight road events this year’s schedule is the longest it has been in a few years. This year it features a US $2 Family and Fun Culture night. President of the SCDF Mike Granger, ‘with this night we wanted to let the families come out to Carnival Village to simple enjoy the ambiance and for the kids to have some fun.’ He said. ‘We think Carnival lovers, supporters, or corporate sponsors, will be very happy with this schedule. We’ve scheduled a little something for everyone, the best that Carnival has to offer. From our Calypso shows to our pageants and highlighted by our parades, Carnival 2013 will be spectacle that nobody, at home or abroad, will want to miss.’
As for which artists will feature on the international nights, Granger said as soon as the respective promoters conclude their negotiations and inform SCDF definitively who the artists are, the public will be informed accordingly. “There will be so much more announcements coming for Carnival 2013 about the various initiatives that will be put in place. Stay tuned for those,’ Granger said.

The 2013 Carnival schedule:
Saturday, January 26 Unity Jump Up
Saturday, April 6 Senior Calypso Eliminations
Sunday, April 7 Jr. Queen Show & Jr. Road March & Calypso
Friday, April 12 Fete to Fitness Jump Up
Saturday, April 13 Teen & Senior Queen Cultural & Speech Competition
Thursday, April 18 Opening Carnival Village
Friday, April 19 International Night – Antillean
Saturday, April 20 International Night – Zouk
Sunday, April 21 Junior Carnival Parade
Monday, April 22 Miss Mature Pageant
Tuesday, April 23 $2 Family Funs & Cultural Night
Wednesday, April 24 Teen & Senior Pageant
Thursday, April 25 Youth Extravaganza
Friday, April 26 International Night – Soca/Dancehall Blend
Saturday, April 27 International Night – Soca
Sunday, April 28 Senior Calypso Finals & Carnival Honors
Monday, April 29 (4am) Jouvert Morning Jump-Up
Monday, April 29 (8pm) International Night – Reggae
Tuesday, April 30 Grand Carnival Parade
Wednesday, May 1 Second Day Parade
Thursday, May 2 International Night – Latin
Friday, May 3 Closing Jump Up/ Burning King Momo

Did you like this? Share it:
St. Maarten Carnival Development Foundation releases Carnival 2013 by

Comments are closed.