SHTA president Emil Lee wins Person of the Year award

POSTED: 11/22/11 7:23 AM

Crystal Pineapple Awards

MAHO – St. Maarten Hospitality and Trade Association President Emil Lee is this year’s person of the year for his outstanding contribution to his organization and to tourism in general. During the Crystal Pineapple Awards ceremony at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino on Friday Lee received the award for his tenure as SHTA-president which is a volunteer function.
Lee said he was honored to receive the prestigious award and mentioned that the SHTA board works on a volunteer basis and meets about three times per week. He described the board members as “an outstanding group of people to work with and I was privileged to work with this group for so many years.”
“There is something I tell my children often is that I do not care what they want to grow up to be or want to do as long as they do and they do it with passion. That describes the SHTA board.” He received a standing ovation for his contribution to the community.
The award for Outstanding Employee training went to Nagico which is seen as a force to be reckoned with in terms of quality and service. Nagico is known for its incentive based courses to the staff which gives the employees the opportunity to excel and be successful in their career.
The Outstanding Environment Award went to Tadzio Bervoets for his work against the invasion of the lion fish. He actively created awareness about the danger of the species.
The Outstanding Journalism Award went to Samuel Allen Jr., of SXM Island Time. He launched his internet news paper in 2008 and now receives a minimum of six million hits per month since he provides real time news on St. Maarten and the surrounding islands. This is the second time that Allen receives the Crystal Pineapple Award for his work in journalism.
Among the other recipients who received awards were the Diabetes Foundation, Isidore “The Mighty Dow” York, Claudette Alexander of the Daily Herald, Stanley Lint of Curacao Trading Company, Vera Olivacci of Intermar Travel, Paul Boetekees of Holland House, Amissa President of Learning Unlimited Preparatory School and Rolando Brison of Island Mauby.
During the ceremonies another award went to FCCA president Michelle Paige; Vice Prime Minister Theodore Heyliger was present at the function and received the Crystal Pineapple on her behalf.

Did you like this? Share it:
SHTA president Emil Lee wins Person of the Year award by

Comments are closed.