Rotary Club inducts two new members

POSTED: 02/14/13 12:32 PM

St. Maarten – The Rotary Club has inducted two new members during the lunch meeting yesterday at Divi Little Bay.

For the opening of the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA), District Governor Vance Lewis came over from Tortola to conduct the induction ceremony assisted in the pinning ceremony by Governor Eugene Holiday. Holiday was a member of the club and is currently an honorary member.

Joining the club are Debbie Biscontini and Geeta Khatnani. Biscontini has a PhD in Economics and taught economics for much of her career, her classification within Rotary is economist; she is also a volunteer treasurer within the Dawn Beach Estate Lots Foundation.

Geeta Khatnani is the owner and manager of Mr. Tablecloth and has joined the Rotary Club under the classification of retail. Khatnani has been on the island since 1980 and lives with her husband and has 2 children and is a member of the Indian Merchants Association.

Both new Rotarians have already demonstrated their involvement in community service within and outside the Rotary organization. Recently inducted Rotarian of the Mid Isle Club, Veronica Jansen-Webster joined the other new members in the ceremony.

This opportunity was also taken by chairman of the RYLA Task Force, James Ferris to present the RYLA program to the District Governor.

Did you like this? Share it:
Rotary Club inducts two new members by

Comments are closed.