Presidiums meet in Curacao

POSTED: 02/14/13 12:41 PM

St. Maarten – A delegation from the Parliament of St. Maarten headed by President of Parliament Rodolphe Samuel, Chairman of the Permanent Committee for Kingdom Affairs and Inter-parliamentary Relations Member of Parliament Roy Marlin, and Secretary General Jossy Semeleer, forming the presidium of the Inter-parliamentary Kingdom meeting IPOK, travelled to Curacao and held discussions with the Presidiums of Aruba and Curacao on Monday, February 4.

The presidiums of the these parliaments prepared for a video conference that took place the next day where a number of decisions were taken in preparation for the IPOK in the Netherlands earlier in March.

The video conference was very constructive and the propositions made by Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten were accepted. All parties agreed that the delegations of the countries will cooperate with each other in order to make the IPKO a success.

Among the decided issues were; the presidium of each country is formed by Presidents of the Parliaments of Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten, the President of the Committees Kingdom Affairs and the Secretaries General, except for the Netherlands, where the Chairman of the Committees Kingdom Affairs of the First and Second Chamber and the Secretaries General, will form the Presidium.

The Presidents of the Parliaments of Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten, the Netherlands, and Chairmen of the Dutch Committee, are the heads of the delegations and will sign the final document.

Each delegation can make an annotation in the decision list if the country has a different view. An explanation of this position can be given in an annex, which formally is not a part of the decision list.

All delegations can participate in the working groups. The Netherlands, First Chamber, will take the lead in a working group if the subject regards the Netherlands in the Caribbean, the BES islands.

The Presidiums of Aruba comprised of; Chris Dammers, Vice President, René Herdé and Secretary General, mr J.A. Bastien-Sherman. Curacao was represented by President Mike Franco, Helmin Wiels, and Secretary General, mr S. Cijntje.

During the meeting in Willemstad, the draft agenda for the IPKO in March was discussed. In mutual agreement some proposals for changes and additions were made to the draft agenda. These proposals were discussed during the video conference on Tuesday, February 5 with the IPKO Presidium of the Netherlands, President of the Committee Kingdom Affairs of the Second Chamber, Jeroen Recourt, and President of the Committee Kingdom Affairs of the First Chamber and the Secretaries General of respective Chambers Marijke Linthorst.

The initial meeting paving the way for discussions was a result of the initiative taken by the President of the Parliament of St. Maarten, to invite the Presidents of the Parliaments of Aruba and Curacao, to come to St. Maarten to discuss amongst other things the upcoming IPKO.

Did you like this? Share it:
Presidiums meet in Curacao by

Comments are closed.