Parliament discusses trips to Aruba, Panama City and Washington D.C.

POSTED: 03/7/11 11:57 AM

St. Maarten – The  Parliament has four meetings planned for tomorrow and Wednesday.

Tomorrow the Central Committee will meet at nine in the morning in the parliament building to discuss a three point agenda.

Aruba’s Minister of Economic, Social and Cultural Affairs, has invited the Parliament to attend the 25th anniversary of Aruba’s separate status from March 16 to 18.

Aruba’s parliament has also invited the parliaments in the Dutch Caribbean including Curacao and St. Maarten for a three-parliament presidium meeting for either March 14 or 15.

The second agenda point is an invitation from the Secretariat of the Commission of the Latin American Parliament Daisy Tourne, to attend a number of meetings on March 24 and 25 in Panama, City, Panama.  Some of the commission meetings planned are, energy and mines, agriculture, and justice.

The third agenda point is an invitation from The Points of Light Institute, a tribute event where former President George W. Bush and the former First Lady Barbara will be recognized. This event takes place on March 21 in the John F. Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.

The permanent committee for Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunications, meets tomorrow morning at ten thirty.

The agenda point is a meeting with Saint Martin United Ministerial Foundation concerning the visit of the All Gay Cruises ship scheduled to call at the port of St. Maarten.

The committee members are Jules James, Petrus de Weever, Patrick Illidge and Frans Richardson.

The third meeting scheduled for tomorrow is the ad hoc committee Revision of the Rules of Order. This meeting begins at two o’clock in the afternoon to discuss the rules of order.

Committee members are Dr. Lloyd Richardson, Roy Marlin and Sylvia Olivacce-Meyers.

The permanent committee for Kingdom Affairs and Inter-parliamentary Relations is scheduled to meet on Wednesday morning at nine o’clock,

The committee will discuss the concept letter about the parliament’s position regarding the democratic deficit within the Kingdom related to the report “Kiezen voor het Koninkrijk.”

The report was made by the Commission Democratic Deficit and presented in November 2009.  The Commission reviewed the role of the Kingdom Council of Ministers and the decision making process and how this can be monitored and controlled.

Members of the committee are Roy Marlin, Dr. Ruth Douglass, William Marlin and Patrick Illidge.



Did you like this? Share it:
Parliament discusses trips to Aruba, Panama City and Washington D.C. by

Comments are closed.