New faces dominate Culture Time Awards 2011

POSTED: 02/6/12 2:14 PM

St. Maarten – Jacques Hamlet (better known as “Billie D”) of SOS Radio in Marigot has been named “Culture Time Person of the Year”. The announcement was made Sunday in a special edition of the island’s longest-running cultural program on PJD-2 radio 1300AM.

“This is also a first for us,” the show’s producer and host Fabian Badejo said as he remarked that Billie D not only works as a radio personality.

“(Also as a) local entrepreneur in the broadcast field (he) has had a significant impact on the island’s cultural field which has not escaped the notice of our judges,” Badejo said.

New faces

Dancer/Choreographer Indhira Marlin, Carnival costume designer and sculptor Randolph Scot, youth group, Voice of our Children foundation and new author, Lydia Henderson were among first-time nominees for the annual Culture Time Awards who took top honors in their specific categories.

Marlin who was selected for her consistency in producing quality work with the island’s youth and ensuring the continuity of excellent output in dance on the island, took over from Broadway star Nicole de Weever, who won the dance category for the last couple of years.

Badejo hopes that a National Dance Ensemble could emerge from the work of artistes like Marlin, Clara Reyes of Imbali Creative Movement Center, and groups like the Motiance Dance Company, the other two nominees in the Dance category for 2011.

Music Awards

The Mighty Dow, who had a stellar year during 2011, with accolades pouring in for him both at home and abroad, won the music category against nominees like Addy “Shadow Man” Richardson and the band, Control. Tanny and the Boys, the Jolly Boys (both leading exponents of string band music) and the Ebony Steel Orchestra were also nominated in this category.

Richardson would not be denied a well-deserved recognition and his song, “In your eyes” was adjudged “Song of the Year” in a mano-a-mano with Control band’s rendition of Sparrow’s classic, “No money, no love.”

“Shadow Man has come out of the shadows to enter the spotlight of Caribbean music with his undeniable success on regional charts and on Tempo,” Badejo noted.

Culture Time co-host, Fernando Clark, stressed that “Shadow Man has been consistently on the radar in the region, producing quality work that has made him stand out as a frontline musician.”

It was not a matter of musical chairs when Control took the “Band of the Year” award in a category that included “Youth Waves” and “No Limits”. It is the second consecutive year that Control has won this category.

Other first timers

Randolph Scot, one of the island’s leading Carnival costume and set designers, won the Fine Art category in his first year of being nominated, while Lydia Henderson, another first-timer in the nominations race, won the Book of the Year award with her controversial autobiography, “Lydia; from heterosexual to homosexual to bisexual to God.”

“Yori Yori” by Bracket, won the “Foreign Song of the Year” title, while “DJ of the Year” was won by Mix Master Pauly.

The Culture Time Lifetime Achievement Award went to artist/musician Urmain Dormoy who has gone from “Slujj to New Status Generation Drum Band in a lifetime full of hard work, dedication and breaking new grounds.”.

Chef Dino Jagtiani, won “Chef of the Year” award, which was instituted last year in recognition of the fact that the island is commonly referred to as the ‘Culinary Capital of the Caribbean’. His Rare and Temptations restaurants offer “creative and innovative fare that soothe the palate.”

There were a total of 16 categories for the Culture Time Awards, with two being declared vacant – Theatre and the Fashion Designer of the Year categories.

The Culture Time Awards do not carry any monetary or other material value but have become a prestigious recognition of consistent and excellent work in the field of culture by those who are in the field.

Did you like this? Share it:
New faces dominate Culture Time Awards 2011 by

Comments are closed.