Names submitted for seventh Central Bank board member

POSTED: 09/10/12 12:14 AM

GREAT BAY / 7 Sept. 2012 – St. Maarten has submitted the names of nominees for a seventh board member of the Central Bank of Curacao and St.Maarten. The candidates number two and could remain anonymous until Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams decides that it is prudent to make a formal announcement.
“I would hate that you get a saga surrounding persons like we have had in the past regarding nominations for the Central Bank,” the Prime Minister explained.
Initially three names were submitted but as a result of a perceived conflict of interest, St.Maarten withdrew the name of one of its candidates, which was approved by the Council of Ministers.
In the meantime, both Curacao and St.Maarten are awaiting a response from the bank’s supervisory board regarding a meeting for a first preparatory meeting before a second shareholder meeting between the two governments.
Two weeks ago Wescot-Williams and Curacao Prime Minister Gerrit Schotte signed a three-page joint statement. About the crisis of confidence between Curacao’s government and Central Bank President Emsley Tromp the statement noted that the government of Curacao will work towards a constructive solution in the interest of all parties involved.

Did you like this? Share it:
Names submitted for seventh Central Bank board member by

Comments are closed.