Marcel Gumbs heads new cabinet

POSTED: 12/22/14 12:02 AM

St. Maarten – Governor Drs. Eugène Holiday will lead the swearing in ceremony of six ministers for the new cabinet on Friday, December 19, at 3 p.m. at his cabinet. Formateur Theo Heyliger presented his final report yesterday, one day after the agreed upon deadline of December 16, to the governor.

There are apparently still issues with the appointment of a successor for Vromi-Minister Maurice Lake and for Public Health-Minister Cornelius de Weever, because these two posts are temporarily taken up by the new Prime Minister Marcel Gumbs and Justice Minister Dennis Richardson. Martin Hassink stays on as minister of finance.

The cabinet presented by the formateur consists of Marcel Gumbs (Prime Minister), Dennis Richardson (Justice, and acting minister of Public Health, Social Development and Labor), Martin Hassink (Finance), Rita Bourne-Gumbs (Education, Culture, Youth and Sports), and Claret Connor (Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunication). Josiane Fleming-Artsen becomes the successor of Mathias Voges as Minister Plenipotentiary in The Hague. The formateur has not appointed a deputy minister plenipotentiary.

“The vetting of the nominated Prime-Minister, Ministers and Minister Plenipotentiary, based on the pertinent regulations regulating the appointment of ministers, has not produced any data that could impede their appointment and swearing-in,” a press release from the governor’s cabinet states.

After the swearing-in ceremony on December 19, the governor and the newly appointed ministers will have a constituting meeting in the A.C. Wathey legislative Hall at the government Administration Building.

Did you like this? Share it:
Marcel Gumbs heads new cabinet by

Comments are closed.