Grassroots movement sets up ID-card committee

POSTED: 02/5/13 12:28 PM

ID-card committee

Members of the ID-card committee in the Emilio Wilson Park: From left to right X-Rey, Daniella Jeffry, André Patrick, Elton Jones and Dr. Aurelius Scot. Photo contributed.

GREAT BAY – The St. Maarten grassroots people movement named six members to its ID-card committee on /Sunday during a jollification in the Emilio Wilson Park. The members are Daniella Jeffry, Elton Jones, Horace Whit, André Patrick, Dr. Aurelius Scot and X-Rey. Board members Larissa Hodge, Albert ‘Jesse’ Adams and Leopold James are also on the committee.

The jollifications are intended “to bring St. Martiners and St. Martiners-at-heart together in order to come up with ideas to promote the St. Martin nation building process and to inspire St. Martiners to reclaim their lost rights in their own country, without infringing on the legitimate rights of others in the process,” the movement’s president Leopold James stated in a press release.

The ID-card committee will be charged with the application procedure for the organization’s cultural ID-card. It will also develop contacts with governments and non-governmental organizations on both sides of the island, “to promote the card and the philosophy behind it and to establish special benefits for cardholders who are duly regarded as native indigenous St. Martiners.”

Did you like this? Share it:
Grassroots movement sets up ID-card committee by

Comments are closed.