Four St. Maarten parliamentarians in Cuba attending Parlatino meetings

POSTED: 05/26/11 12:23 PM

St. Maarten – Four parliamentarians are currently in Havana, Cuba attending permanent commission meetings of the Latin American Parliament (Parlatino). The MPs left on Tuesday and are expected back over the weekend.
The Members of Parliament (MPs) who travelled to Cuba and who represent the country of St Maarten on the permanent commissions of Parlatino are faction leader William Marlin, member of the Gender Equity, Childhood and Youth Commission; Vice President of Parliament Petrus De Weever who is a member of the Health Commission, Jules James, member of Economic Affairs, Social Debt and Regional Development Commission; and Ruth Douglass, member of the Health Commission.
Parlatino is a regional single chamber parliamentary body comprising of parliaments from Latin America and the Caribbean with the primary goals of defence of democracy, non-intervention, self-determination of nations, legal equality of States, the rejection to threat and to the use of force against the political independence and territorial integrity of any state, and the peaceful, fair and negotiated solution of international conflicts.
The purpose of Parlatino is to promote, human rights, and economic and social development; to maintain and foster relations with other geographic parliaments, as well as international organizations; and to defend against imperialism and colonialism. Parlatino was created on December 7, 1964.

Did you like this? Share it:
Four St. Maarten parliamentarians in Cuba attending Parlatino meetings by

Comments are closed.