Ex-President Samuel blows the horn about parliament’s achievements

POSTED: 08/6/13 1:38 PM

Annual report 2011-2012 quietly published

St. Maarten – Very quietly, the annual report of the parliament for the year 2011-2012 has been published on the parliament’s web site. For the public eye the 54-page document is undated, but its pdf-document properties show that it was created on July 30 – well after the former President of Parliament drs. Rodolphe E. Samuel left office.

In the foreword, Samuel blows the horn about the parliament’s achievements. He speaks of “a year of growth” and of a young parliament that is “slowly but surely reaching maturity.”

One of the biggest achievements, the foreword continues, are the hearings on the draft laws that were passed over from the parliament of the former Netherlands Antilles. “Only a few more meetings have to take place for the Members of Parliament to finalize their findings on the hearings,” Samuel wrote. He concludes his foreword with this statement: “This annual report describes a vigorous and active parliament working to fulfill its parliamentary duties of which members can be justly proud.”

The report contains a year in review chapter that outlines the parliament’s major decisions from September 13, 2011 until August 2012. During that time, the parliament adopted seven ordinances, including the 2012 budget on March 22, 2012.

A full twelve pages are dedicated to all the meetings the parliament held during the report-period, and another eight pages are devoted to the meetings of the permanent parliamentary committees.

The attendance list shows that only two Members of Parliament – Johan Leonard (UP) and Dr. Lloyd Richardson attended all public meetings of parliament. Louie Laveist (National Alliance) and Petrus Leroy de Weever (DP) both missed 6 out of 21 meetings and scored the lowest attendance percentage with 78.

Dr. Lloyd Richardson and Drs. Gracita Arrindell had a 95 percent attendance rate for Central Committee meetings, followed by Johan Leonard with 94 percent. Richardson and Arrindell missed just 3 out of 60 meetings Leonard missed 4 out of 59. The numbers are a bit confusing because the overview lists only 50 Central Committee meetings. Independent MP Romain Laville by recorded by far the lowest attendance rate with 59 percent. He did not show up for 26 meetings.

The ad hoc committee dealing with the revision of the rules of order met twice: on November 4, 2011 and on May 7, 2012. On both occasions DP-MP Roy Marlin did not show up. Of the other members, Dr. Lloyd Richardson and George Pantophlet (National Alliance), Silvia Meyers-Olivacce and Gracita Arrindell (UP) attended both meetings. Johan Leonard (UP) and Petrus Leroy de Weever (DP) both attended one meeting.

Did you like this? Share it:
Ex-President Samuel blows the horn about parliament’s achievements by

Comments are closed.