Crystal Pineapple Awards draws more nominees than last year

POSTED: 10/29/14 7:01 PM

St. Maarten – The Crystal Pineapple Awards gala event will take place on November 21 at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino. This year there are 51 candidates in fourteen categories vying for the awards. In the fifteenth category – for outstanding community service achievement – four organizations compete. The organizations included, there are ten more nominees for the awards than last year.

Voting for the candidates is open online at, the website of the organizer, the St. Maarten Hospitality and Trade Association (SHTA), under the Events & Programs button, where Crystal Pineapple Awards is the first option. The voting closes on Wednesday November 12, at 5 p.m.

This is the list of candidates in the fifteen categories.

Accommodations, Employee of the Year: Maria Peterson-Yarde (Oyster Bay Beach Resort), Marcia Gordon (Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and Casino), Vincencio Greene (Diamond Resort Royal Palm), Jose Branche (Royal Islander Club) and Luis Jobo Roa (Diamond Resorts Flamingo).

Accommodations, Supervisor of the Year: Adil Benjamin (Oyster Bay Beach Resort), Messam Monique Palmer (Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino), Julianes Albertini (Simpson Bay Resort), Antonio Richardson (Diamond Resorts Flamingo) and Vivad Pantophlet-Frederick (Diamond Resorts Royal Palm).

Accommodations, Department Manager of the Year: Helena Brookes (Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino), Sandra Rogers (Divi Little Bay Beach Resort), Barbara Warren (Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa) and Nelson Croes (Royal Islander Club).

Accommodations, General Manager of the Year: Karl Bourne (Sonesta Great Bay Resort and Casino), Celine van Meer (Divi Little Bay Beach Resort) and Carlo Zambrini (Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino).

Accommodations, Timeshare Sales Person of the Year: Rohan Williams (Oyster Bay Beach Resort), Murvin Priest (Royal Islander Club) and Haresh Balani (Divi Little Bay Beach Resort).

Accommodations, Rookie of the Year: Priya Forde (Oyster Bay Beach Resort) and Wayne Graham (Royal Islander Club).

Restaurants and Bars, Employee of the Year: Odessa Timmerman (Jimbo’s), Valda Revan-Dewes (Mark’s Place), Sharon Tavernier (Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino) and David Hernandez (Oyster Bay Beach Resort).

Restaurants and Bars, Supervisor/Manager of the Year: Lillian Berman-Wathey (Johney Burger), Cleopatra Blair (Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and Casino) and Marco Ferrante (Izi).

Restaurants and Bars, Restaurateur of the Year: Pierre Ferland (Pineapple Pete / SPN / Sushiito), Topper Daboul (Topper’s), James (Jimbo) Morris (Jimbo’s), Bert Sanders (Karakter) and Bernard Fourie (Buccaneer Beach Bar).

Restaurants and Bars, Chef of the Year: Gregory Gough (Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and Casino), Wilton Hyatt (Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino), Raymond Kaper (Holland House) and Surendra Lal Das (Temptation).

Restaurants and Bars, Bartender of the Year: Edith Cecilia (Oyster Bay Beach Hotel), Ramon Antonio Moreno (Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino) and Paul Peterson (Temptation).

Trade: Employee of the Year: Keith Hanson (St. Maarten Medical Center), Jim (Euwart) Ballantyne (Autobev Systems NV), Etienne Lake (IGY Marina) and Angie Prince (Hillside Christian School).

Trade, Supervisor of the Year: Roy Charles (IGY Marina), Rafael Martinez (St. Maarten Sightseeing Tours) and Ramsis Bryan (Keijzer Computer Systems).

Trade, Manager of the Year: Jimmy Fitzpatrick (Leisure Car Rental), Myrtille Brookson (Ennia) and Shadira Francisca (Bearing Point).

Outstanding Community Service Achievement: The Voice of Our Children, Art Saves Lives Foundation, Powerful Kids and R.I.S.C. Takers F.C.

Did you like this? Share it:
Crystal Pineapple Awards draws more nominees than last year by

Comments are closed.