Committee appointed to handle Caricom application

POSTED: 02/15/12 1:54 PM

St. Maarten – The Prime Minister of St. Lucia Dr. Kenny Anthony is the chair of the committee that will assess applications from St. Maarten and Curacao to become associate members of the Caribbean Community (Caricom). The decision to set up the commission was made at a Council of Ministers meeting that was held at Caricom’s headquarters in Guyana last Wednesday.

Both Curacao and St. Maarten filed their applications for associate membership shortly after they became countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands on October 10, 2010. If admitted they will become the sixth and seventh associate members. The current five associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands. Aruba, which is also part of the Dutch Kingdom, has observer status.

Did you like this? Share it:
Committee appointed to handle Caricom application by

Comments are closed.