Buncamper-Molanus takes helm at Rotary Club of St. Maarten

POSTED: 06/10/13 2:21 PM

St. Maarten – Maria Buncamper-Molanus officially accepted the role of President of the Rotary Club of St. Maarten on Saturday. Her function goes into effect on July 1. The gala took place at the Infinity Restaurant at Oyster Bay Resort.

“Becoming a member of Rotary 11 years ago was special for me, and becoming president brings additional sentiments as my father, some 41 years ago on March 17, 1972 became a charter member of this very same club,” Buncamper-Molanus said. She outlined her plans to take the Rotary International theme of “Engage Rotary and Change Lives” and bring it closer to home. “If we are truly going to engage Rotary and change lives here on St. Maarten, we must address the challenges that exist in our community with respect to poverty and children who have special needs, like Autism and Attention Deficit Disorder, or any other challenge that causes them to learn differently. We do not simply write checks, we get involved and make a difference,” the president-elect said.

Outgoing President Robert Judd only had great things to say about his successor. He thanked her for her tireless efforts as secretary and president-elect for the past year. He also thanked all of the members of the outgoing board for their hard work and dedication.

One highlight of the evening was the induction of Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams as an Honorary Member of the Rotary Club of St. Maarten. She graciously accepted the honor and was pinned by Maria Buncamper. In her short address to the audience, the Prime Minister said, “Thank you for this great honor. Through cooperation and working together service clubs like Rotary can do so much. St. Maarten is better off today than many years ago because of this type of cooperation.”

For the new Rotary year that begins on July 1 Buncamper-Molanus has lined up a team of seasoned philanthropists to serve on her Board of Directors and Committee Chairpersons. The new team is Robert Judd (immediate past president), Pierre Decelles (vice president), Deepak (Danny) Ramchandani (secretary and president-elect) and Frederick Fleming (treasurer). Further expanding the ranks, the Club Administration Committee will be chaired by Valda Woodley-Hazel, the Membership Committee will be chaired by Henna Budhrani, the Public Relations Committee by Jeffrey Sochrin, the Service Projects Committee by Marc Groeneveld, the Rotary Foundation Committee by Rik Bergman and Max Pandt, and Franklyn Maynard will serve as Sergeant at Arms. Finally, the Strategic Planning Committee will consist of Maria Buncamper-Molanus, Rebecca Low, Danny Ramchandani and Jeffrey Sochrin.

The evening continued with a silent auction and energetic entertainment from King Beau Beau and the Beaubettes.


Did you like this? Share it:
Buncamper-Molanus takes helm at Rotary Club of St. Maarten by

Comments are closed.