All set for Franco-Dutch Caribbean Basketball tournament

POSTED: 10/23/11 12:00 PM

St. Maarten – The ground work has been set for the staging of the first Franco-Dutch Caribbean youth basketball tournament. The event is designed to coincide with St Maarten Day activities and is a first since St. Maarten has attained country status.
The U-19 competition is being organized by the Soualiga Youth Basketball Association. It is designed to foster the relationships between the French and Dutch territories within the Caribbean. Games will be played simultaneously at the Omni Sports Center in Marigot, the Melford Hazel Sports Center and the LB Scott Sports Auditorium. The Soualiga Youth Basketball Association has two teams in the tournament; an A team that represents St. Maarten and a B team that will represent St. Martin. Teams will also fly in from Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Aruba, Saba and St. Eustatius.
The St. Maarten selection is drawn from different schools and neighborhoods. The team includes:
Point guard Betty Estate Amir Lebega L.U
Point guard St Peters Enel Deshommes SXM Vocational
Shooting guard St Peters Jonathon Philips MPC
Shooting guard Bush Rd Sandje Brice SXM Academy
Shooting guard St Peters Ashielle Hodge MPC
Shooting guard Fort William Jason Davis SXM Academy
Shooting guard Middle Region Special Richardson MPC
Small forward Cole Bay Cairon Herbert MPC
Small forward Dutch Quarter Chris George SXM Academy
Power forward Dutch Quarter Angel Luis-Penalo SXM Vocational
Center Saunders Dion Bute SXM Academy
Center Cay Hill Jaimeson Pierre-Luis SXM Academy
The head coach for this selection is Mark Edouard. Jonathan Philips is the team captain and Cairon Herbert is the vice captain.
The B team will be headed by Leo ‘Nacio’ Vanterpool and captained by Eardly Marcellus. Josua Bowers is vice captain. Marcellus, a point guard is a resident of Fort William and attends the Academy PSVE. Bowers, who is also a point guard, is a resident of St Johns and attends the St Dominic School.
The other players on the team are Sheldon Richardson, Renny Pompier, Allan Duzant, Hakeem, Malik Dupersoy, Deuejce Pierre-Charles, Hakeem Hodge, Jamal Hanson, Alfrado Richardson, Rolando Carty, and Arsenio Meyers. The entire team will be supported by Deraldo Wiggly, Jamal Hanson and Demitrius Barry who are the reservists.

Did you like this? Share it:
All set for Franco-Dutch Caribbean Basketball tournament by

Comments are closed.