5 residents receives scholars program awards scholarships

POSTED: 08/2/13 4:27 PM

St. Maarten – American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine (AUC) and the University of St Maarten (USM) announced yesterday that 5 St. Maarten residents are the 2013 recipients of the AUC/USM Scholars Program awards.

The 2013 awardees are Sara Haynes-Cousins, Troy Shalland, Rosemar Williams Africa, Guerda Fremont, and Marcia Nisbeth. Each is currently enrolled in a degree program at USM.

The scholars program (formerly known as the Tien Scholarship Program) honors residents who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the country and a desire to contribute to the betterment of the country and local community.

This year the program has awarded over $30,000 in scholarships to support 5 awardees in attending the University of St Maarten.

“Thanks to the scholarship I no longer have to worry about how my tuition will be funded, and this has allowed me to be completely focused on my academics. This award has motivated me to continue striving toward reaching my goal of becoming an educator,” Marcia Nisbeth, who studies Education, said.

Golden Jackson, PhD, director of service learning and community affairs at AUC, commended the awardees for their strong academic record and noted that, “At AUC, we believe strongly in supporting educational opportunities for residents of St. Maarten and value the opportunity to assist USM students in pursuit of their goals through higher education.”

Another awardee, Sara Haynes-Cousins, is a pre-school teacher and volunteer with the Tzu Chi Foundation. The scholarship will help her as she continues pursuit of a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education, with a minor in Special Education. “Receiving this scholarship will make reaching my goal much easier,” she said.


Did you like this? Share it:
5 residents receives scholars program awards scholarships by

Comments are closed.